Wagga Wagga City Council (1946-)

Identity area

Type of entity

Government agency

Authorized form of name

Wagga Wagga City Council (1946-)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Wagga Wagga Borough Council (1870-1946)

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


Following a petition signed by 104 landholders in the town of Wagga Wagga, a Municipality was proclaimed on 15 March 1870 by the NSW Governor under the Municipalities Act, 1867, to be called the Borough of Wagga Wagga.

The Borough was divided into three Wards, with each Ward to be represented by three Aldermen on the newly formed Council:
North Ward (on the northern side of the Murrumbidgee River);
South Ward (on the southern side of the Murrumbidgee River, with Forsyth Street as its southern border); and
East Ward (with Forsyth Street as its northern border and Docker Street as its western border).
(A Central Ward was created on [17 January 1890?], which was bounded by Gurwood, Docker, Forsyth and Tarcutta Streets).

The first election was held on 16 June 1870, with nine men of Wagga Wagga elected to serve on the first Municipal Council. George Forsyth was elected as Mayor.

The City of Wagga Wagga was proclaimed on 17 April 1946, under the Local Government Act, 1919.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Authority Record created 30 July 2019. S Wolfe.




NSW Government Gazette, 15 March 1870.
Wagga Wagga Advertiser, 18 June 1870.
NSW Government Gazette, 17 April 1946.

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places