NSW Water Resources Commission, Murrumbidgee Division

Identity area

Type of entity

Government agency

Authorized form of name

NSW Water Resources Commission, Murrumbidgee Division

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Water Conservation and Irrigation Commission was reconstituted as the Water Resources Commission in April 1976, under the Water Resources Commission Act, 1976 (Act No.34, 1976). There were five Divisions within the new Water Resources Commission, one of which was the Murray Division. This Division oversaw the Tullakoo Irrigation Area and the Berriquin, Deniboota, Denimein and Wakool Irrigation Districts. The Water Resources Commission was abolished by the Water Administration Act, 1986 (Act No.195, 1986) and its functions taken over by the NSW Department of Water Resources on 1 January 1987.


Griffith, NSW

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Authority Record created 9 July 2019. J Kohlhagen




NSW State Archives and Records Authority - NSW Water Resources Commission Agency 1141 https://www.records.nsw.gov.au/agency/1141

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places