Wagga Wagga Teachers' College

Identity area

Type of entity

Tertiary Institution

Authorized form of name

Wagga Wagga Teachers' College

Parallel form(s) of name

  • WWTC

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1 January 1947 - 1 January 1972


Wagga Wagga Teachers' College was established in 1947 to provide a two year course for the training of infant and primary school teachers. (1) Nine lecturers were appointed in January 1947 with George Leslie Blakemore, B.A., as Principal and Griffiths Duncan, M.A. as Deputy Principal. (2)

Under section 17(1) of the Higher Education Act 1969 (Act No.29, 1969) Wagga Wagga Teachers College was declared a College of Advanced Education within the Department of Education from 1 September 1971. (3)

From 1 January 1972 under section 17 (1) of the Higher Education Act 1969, the Wagga Wagga Teachers' College was amalgamated with the Riverina College of Advanced Education, becoming the School of Teacher Training. (4)


  1. Charles Sturt University - Mitchell, p.9.
  2. Public Service List, 1947.Sydney, NSW Government Printer, 1948, p.108.
  3. NSW Government Gazette No.95, 27 August 1971, p.3299.
  4. Charles Sturt University - Mitchell, p.9; NSW Government Gazette No.129, 5 November 1971, p.4278.


Wagga Wagga, NSW

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Authority Record created 19 July 2018. J Kohlhagen.




Agency History compiled by State Archives and Records Authority of NSW. https://www.records.nsw.gov.au/agency/1951 (retrieved 19 July 2018).

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places